Cheers Hammond!

The BBC’s Top Gear is back for another series, they are spoiling us with 10 episodes.
That’s not (exactly) why I’m here in front of my computer, although Top Gear is certainly entertaining.
What I’m actually here is to express my disappointment over Richard Hammond’s “shouty angry man act”. I ride a bike to work, and I’ve seen some inconsiderate and dangerous driving (from drivers and cyclists alike). Perhaps it’s a symptom of age (although he’s about five years older than I am) but I felt his yelling and cussing did nothing to improve the image of cyclists.
I find that a directed look of calm derision is much more effective at making me feel better, rather than chasing the driver down and tearing a strip off him or her.

I also felt Hammond’s occasional cycling-in-the-door-lane sets a poor example. I’d want to be further away from the door of the parked cars, experience teaches this sort of thing just as well as the UK’s Highway Code.
vlcsnap-2015-01-26-20h26m03s243
(Highway Code, rule 67 paragraph 2)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

