Roger Lawson (Alliance of British Drivers) – You don’t speak for me.

Subject says it all really. In this interview with the BBC’s Newsnight (date 7/8/2013, about 23 minutes in) Roger Lawson says “Cyclists are aggressive and dangerous, you don’t get that with drivers!”

As the Alliance Of British Drivers represents fewer than 1% of drivers in the UK, I would say he is in a very small minority. So, for the sake of clarity:
I drive a car, for which I pay all costs associated with.
I ride a bike, for which I pay all costs associated with.
I would like to make it clear that I do not support Roger Lawson’s statement, he does not represent my views as a road-user at all.

I think his inclusion in the Newsnight program was a triumph on the part of the people who make the programme, as it reinforces the points raised by the pro-cycling part of the programmme.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

