New toy: A helmet camera.

I have treated myself to a helmet camera, and I’m impressed with the results. The camera is a CamSports HDS – 720p. It’s simple to use, small and lightweight, and comes with a generous supply of extras for attaching it to yourself, or your bike in various ways. I might even put one of the mounts in my car to record my driving.
There are now some biking videos on my youtube ‘channel’. Naturally I will tend to publish down-hill runs, because watching someone pedal up-hill for thirty to sixty minutes is boring. Even if it’s “Uphill Dave” pedalling. Which I’m not.
I will observe the wide angle lens does tend to make everything appear to be further away than it actually is, this makes motion appear to be slower than it actually is.
If I’m cycling on a utility journey, for example, I intend to record the entire Point Of View for my ride. I expect to be deleting the recording (ideally) 1000 times out of 1000, but I’ll settle for 999. If I’m cycling on the public highway, and I record someone doing something careless or dangerous then I will publish the video. If this guy can do it, so can I.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

