Petition the Prime Minister about an acquitted defendant’s rights to costs recovery.

I’ve just signed this petition to the Prime Minister.
I believe that an acquitted defendant’s rights to costs recovery is fundamental to the judicial process. I understand this is being brought in mainly due to the increase in the number of road users challenging fines, other statutory penalties and prosecutions rather than reaching for the cheque-book to “make it go away”.
By way of disclosure, I am a driver and I own my own car. If I have done something wrong I will own up and admit it. On the other hand, if I’m innocent then I’m definitely not going to pay the costs involved in defending myself – against a case which ought never to have been raised.
As a cyclist, the same applies to me too.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

